Sewing Global: From the sofa

I’d been reading a lot about Deer and Doe patterns and decided to take a look for myself. The website is beautiful in it’s simplistic design and very easy to navigate. To find out more about indie pattern designer Elenore check out her About and Blog pages of the website. I was pleased to learn that the patterns come with both French and English instructions and my inner-Green can be reassured that the patterns and booklets are printed on recycled paper too. Deer and Doe has a fantastic collection of styles that aren’t overly fussy but don’t lack detail either.

Deer and Doe

In the online shop, I plumbed for Sureau and Belladone dresses and a few days later my purchases were delivered. I was lusting after the Datura top too but it is for Advanced level sewers… maybe next time I make a Deer and Doe purchase it’ll be in my shopping basket.

Sureau Belladone Patterns

I’m going to start with the Sureau Dress, a Spring or Autumn type of dress with a Beginner Level rating. Following Paunnet’s Sureau Sewalong, I’ll be  taking it slow and steady… leaving me plenty of time to find a suitable fashion fabric.

Sureau Sew-along

Since Belladone is an Intermediate Level pattern, I’ll hold onto this one for a little while. I envisage a plain one, a summery one and an evening version for this pattern so it has plenty of mileage!

6 responses to “Sewing Global: From the sofa

  1. These are so pretty! I look forward to reading about your experiences making them.

  2. I too have been thinking about purchasing some deer and doe patterns, they all look so beautiful. I just have a lot of patterns and projects in my to do list atm, so I don’t want to be committing to anything else. I am keen to see how you get along. Perhaps you will inspire me to just go for it 😀 xxx

  3. I’ve sewn two of these now, in light-weight dressmaking cottons, and although I’m pretty happy with them, I wish I’d taken the patterns advice and used a medium-weight fabric instead – I think the skirt would cling to my legs less. Oh well, I can do another. It doesn’t take too long to make at all, and the intructions are really clear – have fun! Look forward to seeing your version/s.

    • Oops – forgot to say it was the Sureau I’ve sewn two of – although I’m in the middle of my second Chardon skirt right now – can’t get enough of the Deer & Doe!

  4. Deer and Doe have suddenly started popping up in my blog reader a lot and I hadn’t heard of them last week. So, I decided I need the Belladonna pattern but it seems the lovely owner has gone on holiday for a few days and I’ll have to wait. Boohoo.

  5. I’ve got both those patterns but have yet to make them, although I’ve heard all sorts of goo things about them and have seen lovely versions pop up in blog land. Looking forward to your version of Sureau.

Comments, tips and suggestions?

