Beach Holiday Playsuit

What did I sew on a rainy, cold Sunday?  A playsuit (romper, jumpsuit) the fun girls cover-up for the transition from sunbed to beach bar! I wasn’t sure about the cover images on the packet of McCalls 6083 but a quick internet search lead me to some inspiring makes. For the short version only, here’s my top three blogged favourites:

1. Sew I Thought’s circus themed cotton cuteness romper.
2. Beach resort brights by Lola of Inspired by Lola
3. LulaLouise’s side zip for easy access grey black version.

I threw caution to the wind by skipping a toile. Instead I took some detailed measurements of the pattern pieces to ensure that I wouldn’t end up with a saggy crotch, or worse!

Beach Playsuit

I’m pleased with the pockets and belt – sewing really slowly is the secret to neat top stitching whether its on a curve or long straight line. I tested both white and black thread on scrap fabric before deciding on black – what would you have used?

Beach Playsuit Pocket

As for the overall garment, I’m sat on the fence about this one. The fit is fine, I’m just not sure about the pink flowers (my biggest hang-up!). So, while you won’t catch me nipping to the shops in it, I’d be happy to pack it in my suitcase for a beach holiday… now where’s my passport?

7 responses to “Beach Holiday Playsuit

  1. I think the pink flowers are lovely for a beach cover up. Clothes should be bright for holidays.

  2. Woowww.. Nice One..
    Bright and Fresh.

    • Jezzy,
      I just checked out your blog… I would definitely wear this playsuit on Kuta Beach – stunning views. Now I really want a sunny holiday. Maybe in August.

  3. Cutest playsuit ever!!

  4. this is super cute. ive got this pattern, been meaning to make it – just haven’t found the right fabric yet :-

  5. this fabric is perfect! even for non-beach areas. just beautiful! Is it knit? I would love to find something similar, even if it’s almost a year later!

Comments, tips and suggestions?

