Sporty Sorbetto

It was during a high intensity aerobics class that the idea for this exact make came to me but my interest in sewing sportswear has been growing over the last few weeks. Well what endorphin addicted sewer wouldn’t be inspired by Winnie’s running leggings, Carolyn’s cycling jersey and Becca’s built-in bra exercise top. I’m going to be the first in the queue if Becca produces her top as a multisize pattern!

Sportswear fabric

I had to shelve my idea for a few weeks though because I couldn’t find any sportswear fabrics by the meter (excluding shiny dancewear lycra!)

I entered the fabric shop in my nearest city with the mantra “just notions, just notions from the list, no fabric”. I was doing well, I only had listed notions in my hand when I joined the queue. My eyes began reading the label dangling from a bolt of blue (my kind of blue!) fabric. I read “100% polyester, eyelet high performance to keep the body cool and dry”. My mantra went out of the window and 1 meter of that stuff was mine!

I retraced the Colette Sorbetto pattern and then added a couple of inches to the length, took it in a generous amount at the sides, raised the neckline a tiny bit and eliminated the pleat and darts. Ok, ok so it’s a distant cousin of the Sorbetto!

Sporty Sorbetto

The neckline and arm holes are bound using this technique which turned out really neat and doesn’t roll to the wrong side at all.

Sporty Sorbetto 2

I tested out my Sporty Sorbetto at combat class, wearing it over a sports bra and it was great. No hotter or sweatier than usual, no sweat marks, no static or riding up and not restrictive at all. Since it’s not fitted, it’s definitely a top for upright exercise (running, combat class, step aerobics). I couldn’t wear it for yoga (I’d be flashing my tummy every time I did down dog position!), circuits or dancing. I’m so excited about sewing my own sportswear that I have already ordered Kwik Sew 3672. Its more fitted and has built in shelf-bra so it could be the ideal exercise top for dancing.

Nearly forgot… there was even enough fabric left over for some of Winnie’s Running Bows for my trainers!

Running Bows

What are your favorite sportswear sewing patterns?

6 responses to “Sporty Sorbetto

  1. What a brilliant idea! I am always looking for new sportswear that doesn’t look too “sporty” (huge logos etc). This could be the perfect solution if I can find the fabric!

    • Yeah the logos are annoying especially when you’re not a labels person. For me it’s that most ladies sportswear is pink… so frustrating when the fabric types in many different colours are used for men’s sportswear.

  2. I have not made the Sorbetto as a knit, good idea! I have New Look 6265. I have not made anything from it, but got it because everything looks stylish as well as sporty.

  3. Great shape sports top – who knew Sorbetto! cute bows!

  4. Great workout top! I have put a link to it on my blog at http://carolineparadigmdesign.blogspot.co.uk/ and yours was very inspiring. 🙂

Comments, tips and suggestions?

