Movies in the (Great) Park Shorts

This summer’s heat wave highlighted my lack of appropriate sunny weather clothing. Dixie DIY’s Movies in the Park shorts swooped in to rescue my wardrobe dilemma.

Movies shorts 2

Location: The photographs were taken in Windsor Great Park (hence the title) and in the background is Windsor Castle. Please excuse the creases and picnic belly – I should have gotten the photo shoot out of the way before sitting on a picnic blanket and scoffing an epic picnic lunch!

Movies shorts 3

Pattern: I think Dixie is underselling herself as the PDF pattern is only £2.64 ($4 USD). The pattern pieces fit together perfectly and the pattern instructions are clear and concise with helpful line drawings. You can adjust the fit by moving the buttonhole and button placement as part of the last construction steps and in the future move the buttons to accommodate a changing waistline. Clever huh?!

Back pattern piece with crotch and waist adjustments.

Back pattern piece with crotch and waist adjustments.

Alterations: Making a toile first, I was able to transfer my alterations to the pattern pieces ready for next time. I needed to remove 4 inches at the waist but nothing from the hips. The easiest way seemed to be chopping a 1 inch wedge out of the side of both front and back pieces tapering to meet the regular cutting line by the fourth button (and similar for the waistband, pocket and pocket facing). I also made a ‘wedgie adjustment’ gouging out a deeper curve from 2 inches below the waist and tapering towards the crotch on the back piece only. My final adjustment was to extend the back piece darts by 3/8 inch.

See... no wedgie!

See… no wedgie!

Fabric: The main fabric is from Mermaid and the binding I made out of an elephant grey light weight polycotton from Dalston Mill Fabrics. The seams were finished by overlocking.

Movies shorts 5

I successfully matched the stripes of the front pieces and pockets (but not the waistband *sigh*) and wooden buttons provide some extra sewing eye candy if pretty buttons do it for you.

Movies shorts 4

This summer I’ve enjoyed wearing these shorts as much as I did sewing them. Thanks Dixie!

11 responses to “Movies in the (Great) Park Shorts

  1. these are lovely – great job on getting the fit just right 🙂

  2. A delightful finish on the shorts and the wooden buttons look super-cute!

  3. And what picnic belly?……

  4. These are adorable! I’ve always wanted to make up this pattern!

  5. How cute are those shorts! The buttons you chose really compliment the fabric. So cute.

  6. Oh, these shorts turned out super cute! And I don’t know what you are talking about re. the picnic belly. I say, what belly?

  7. Your shorts are really nice, I love the fabric and the fit. Not sure about that belly, tough, I think she went missing 🙂
    I used your crotch alteration and used your image on my blog, I hope that’s ok. Thank you!

Comments, tips and suggestions?

