Carefully Crafted Christmas Presents: Knitting

Along with sewing some Christmas gifts, I got the knitting needles clickety clacking too.

Bandana cowls

His and hers Bandana Cowls were the first things on and off my needles way back in October. The purple one (Manos del Uruguay Wool Classica) was requested specifically for motorbiking and the green/grey (Malabrigo worsted) one just felt like the right thing to do.

Knitting1The lumpy bumpy purple yarn was perfect for Urchin by Ysolda Teague a pattern I’ve been wanting to make for my sister-in-law as she really suits this style of hat. I still had more spare yarn so I made matching wrist warmers.

Straight cowl

And a 5 hour delay at Frankfurt airport led to a spontaneously knitted present using the remaining Malabrigo yarn. I modified the bandana cowl pattern to give two straight edges but kept the decreases so that the cowl would be snug.

Comments, tips and suggestions?

