Lined vent sew-along: Preparation and cutting out

There are three ways you can join in with this sew-along…

1. Sewing a sample
2. Sewing a pattern with a vent
3. Sewing a pattern that needs a vent adding to it.

Using the instructions below that apply to you, let’s get started:

1. Making a sample:

If you’re going to be sewing along by making a sample you can download the ClippedCurves Vent Pattern. Print and cut it out (not sticking involved it’s only 1 page!). Fold your outer fabric and place the pattern away from the fold.

Lined Vent 1

Cut to produce two mirror image pieces of fabric and transfer all markings.

Lined Vent 2

2. Using a pattern with a vent:

Add a notch 2 inches below the top of the vent extension. Your pattern should already have a dot on the centre back seam. Add an additional dot on the diagonal vent extension seam 5/8 inch away from the vertical edge (see above image). Cut your outer fabric using your pattern pieces as indicated by the pattern instructions and transfer all markings.

3. Adding a vent to a pattern:

You have a little extra work to do but nothing we can’t deal with today.

1. Download, print and cut out the ClippedCurves Vent Pattern.
2. Trace off your back pattern piece.
3. If your pattern was intended to be cut on the fold, add a 5/8th seam allowance right down the centre back.
4. Line up the centre back of the ClippedCurves Vent Pattern (has 5/8th” seam allowances added already) and your traced pattern piece.

Lined Vent 10
5. Trace the vent extension or tape the vent extension to your back pattern piece.

6. Cut two of your outer fabric using this new back pattern piece (cut folded fabric or two mirror images of single layer fabric), follow your pattern instructions for all other pattern pieces and transfer all markings (two dots and a notch for the vent extension).

In the next post we’ll construct the shell (outer fabric).

9 responses to “Lined vent sew-along: Preparation and cutting out

  1. I cut out a pencil skirt toile last night. The pattern already has a vent, but no lining, so I’m looking forward to the steps where we’ll add that! I could really use a few pencil skirts, so I’ll try to work on fitting my toile alongside this sew-along.

  2. This looks like a very useful tutorial that a lot of sewers will be able to apply to a variety of skirt patterns – nice work Emma-Jayne ; )

    • Thanks… are you joining in with the sew along?

      • Sorry to say I’m still in a house renovation disaster zone so I can’t join in for the sew-along ; ( Lots of DIY going on but not of the sewing kind.
        I will hopefully get back to sewing again this summer when the whole house should hopefully be finished ; ) I am planning another pencil skirt which will be perfect for a lined vent!

  3. That’s great! I am going to make a practice vent for a dress that I am making in the spring. I have done lots of vents over the years, but never actually lined one completely. This a really good sewalong! All done and ready for the next bit. Caroline 🙂

  4. You know, I thought I would sew a sample, but now I just want an entire skirt. I need to dig in my pattern stash for something that will work. Thanks so much for hosting this Emma Jayne.

    • I also got a little frustrated sewing the sample for the sew-along images when what I really wanted was something I could wear! I can’t wait to see what you make!

Comments, tips and suggestions?

