First Anniversary Giveaway

Today I’m celebrating 1 year of blogging and more than that I’m looking back over 12 months of makes, 12 months of supportive comments and 12 months of feeling connected to fellow sewers from around the world.

The online sewing community had quite a pyjama party back in June 2013 and that helped me to feel part of the community.

The online sewing community had quite a pyjama party back in June 2013 and that helped me to really feel part of that community.

I appreciate all the lovely comments, thoughts, suggestions and advice I have received over the last 98 posts – I couldn’t have figured out some of the trickier techniques without you or enjoyed florals quite so much either!

Despite my hazy past with florals, your lovely comments helped me to feel comfortable in this dress which I now wear at least once a fortnight!

Despite my hazy past with florals, your lovely comments helped me to feel comfortable in this dress which I now wear at least once a fortnight!

I was quite surprised when I totted up my makes, totalling  59 for sewing and 9 for knitting. Broken down into categories here’s the pie chart for sewing:

1year reviewAll 9 knitting makes were accessories but my first non-accessory knitted project is in (slow) progress.

And my favourite make so far?

Damson Gin Dress Cuff

My Damson Gin Dress has a special place in my heart for my first year of blogging.

Not only did I nail the fit of New Look 6000 pattern for this make but I also used many of the new sewing techniques I’d mastered since starting dressmaking (remember I used to only sew curtains and take up trousers) and it was the inspiration for the lined vent sew along.

And now for the bit you’ve been waiting for (or just scrolled over the previous waffle):

IMG_0269

Lurking in the background is my dressmaker’s dummy. Can you guess her name?

I named my dressmaker’s dummy the day hubby laughed that I’d set the height I thought I was instead of 15cm shorter but can you guess her name? Clue: She’s named after one half of a female duo of the 1991 film in which they drive off a cliff into the Grand Canyon.

One lucky recipient with receive a little parcel of crafty goodies including the Deer and Doe Sureau dress pattern, orange stripe washi tape and 8 gold-coloured buttons.

1st Anniversary Giveaway

You must be aged 18 or older to enter. Entries are open worldwide. To enter, leave your answer to the question above in the comments (plus your email address if it’s not on your profile or blog) before midday GMT on Sunday 30th March. All correct answers (one per person, first answer will be taken in the event of multiple-guessing!) will be entered into a random draw. The winner will be announced in a Clipped Curves blog post on Monday 31st March and I’ll post the goodies to the winner within a week of receiving their address.

Good luck!

19 responses to “First Anniversary Giveaway

  1. 59 sewing and 9 knitting makes that’s a lot in a year and from the two dresses shown in the above you can see how far you have come from curtains and trouser turn ups. Well done and thank you for sharing your experiences and learning along the way. Happy anniversary

  2. Wow that is some kind of productive! Thanks for the lined vent tutorial, I have been using Sunni’s, but yours is even clearer.

    My dressmaker’s dummy is Hortense, is yours Thelma?

  3. I don’t think I was following you when you made that floral dress so I’m glad you’ve shown it again, it’s lovely! Ha, I love naming my tailor’s mannequins, I have one called Edith and one called Miranda. Is yours Thelma? Thanks for a lovely giveaway and happy birthday to you!

  4. Congratulations on a year of blogging – that is some impressive output.
    I’m going to go with Thelma, too, for the name of your dress form.

  5. Thanks for the lining vent turorial- very helpful, I plan to use it soon. Concerning the giveaway I would guess Luise as the name of your dressmaking form (I still haven’t named mine, for some reason no name really stuck to it) .

  6. It’s probably Thelma, but you look a little too funky for that one, so I’m going for Louise! Thanks for the opportunity 🙂

  7. I think she looks very much like Louise!
    Congrats on completing your first year of blogging. My first blogging anniversary is just around the corner too. I really enjoy reading your blog and the Lined Vent Sewalong is a great resource too. Here’s to many more years of blogging!

  8. Happy anniversary! 🙂 What a brilliant year of blogging! I’m guessing Thelma as your dress form’s name (I can’t believe how long ago that film came out…!)

  9. Happy blogiversary! Have you really only been sewing garments for a year? If so, I’m surprised – your work is impeccable!

  10. Im also going to go with Louise…she looks like a Louise.
    Happy Blogiversary & congrats on all your lovely me-mades.

  11. Happy anniversary! I enjoy reading your blog a lot and am impressed with the number of projects you completed in one year – great work:-)

  12. Happy Anniversary.. and wow.. 59 sewing items in a year is really awesome.. 😀
    thank you for the informative posts so far and here’s a toast to more blogging years ahead.. 😀

  13. You certainly had a very productive sewing year! My guess is going to be Thelma.

  14. Happy Anniversary! What a lovely giveaway. My guess is that her name is Louise.

  15. I will follow the crowd with Thelma as it is an excellent name for a dressmaker’s dummy. Mine is Daphne, not entirely sure why but it suits her. Brad Pitt was also in that excellent movie. Fabulous effort with so many items, I am in awe.

  16. Katherine Ryan

    Your sewing has certainly progressed faster than mine! 🙂 I still enjoy it though, even if my results are a bit wonky. I’m guessing your mannequin is called Thelma.

  17. Congrats on your blogiversary Emma Jayne. I have certainly enjoyed reading your blog for the past year. I’m going to take a pass at the giveaway (because I already own that pattern) but will take a guess at your dummy’s name: Louise?

  18. Congratulations on a year of great sewing and blogging 🙂

Comments, tips and suggestions?

