Spring has Sprung as Burda Blossoms

Seriously, how ace was the April issue of Burda Style? I immediately spotted 3 patterns I wanted to make. I did a little Spring clean of my ‘to sew’  list and the wrap blouse 04/2014#115 was put in first place. The asymmetric front (I still don’t know why they called it a wrap blouse, it’s not wrap-like to me it’s asymmetric) and the wide hem that runs continuously from shoulder around the back to shoulder are exactly my style.

Burda 04/2014 #115

I had both a Spring-style day wear and something a little dressier for evening wear in mind for this pattern. First up is my Spring version made in the same cotton lawn as I made a my Berry Sorbetto in around this time last year (the print is rather Liberty Wiltshire-esq don’t you think?

Burda 042014 Front

There’s a hint of pulling from the shoulder to the bust. I think raising and angling the bust darts might fix this up for my next make. Also, the busy print is masking the asymmetric front somewhat so let me turn to one side so that you can see it more easily.

Burda 042014 Side

I wasn’t sure what to expect from Burda sizing and ease – according to the chart I spanned three different sizes for bust, waist and hips so I graded between these for my toile. The back was so voluminous, I had to take out 4 inches of excess from the back seam tapering to between my shoulder blades. I know this blouse was designed to be boxy but I’m not sure that shape really works for me.

Burda 042014 Back

Despite the boxiness, I am just as smitten with the asymmetric front and the wide hem as I was when I first flicked through the magazine. Plus my vision of an evening wear version in dressy (read difficult to sew) fabric of a single, rich colour must be brought to life. So, I am willing to tinker with this pattern to make it work for me but I do wonder when it’s less about fit and more about tweaking the silhouette is that betraying the original designer’s intentions? Have you ever had this dilemma?

11 responses to “Spring has Sprung as Burda Blossoms

  1. I love this top and will definitely be making it up as well. Thanks for the tip on the sizing.

  2. I found the April BurdaStyle ace too….wait till you see MAY 🙂

  3. Pingback: 10 Top Tips for a Bias Bound Neckline | Clipped Curves

  4. Beautiful top, well done!

  5. i really like it! quite flattering on you actually!

  6. Pingback: From Day to Night | Clipped Curves

  7. Pingback: Double Blouse – Day and Night | The Monthly Stitch

  8. Pingback: Tutorial – Bias Binding a Neckline | Spread Your Wings And Craft

Comments, tips and suggestions?

