Seed Stitch Philosophy

Seed Stitch

January — when a row takes 45 minutes, you know you’re in it for the long haul.

Casting on 255 stitches when you’re a recovering cowl-a-holic is hard enough. Continuing for a million rows in seed stitch is something else.

Don’t get me wrong I adore seed stitch. I love the pattern and dense stitches. I love the squishyness of the end product. I love the way the purl bumps slot into the space between two purl bumps on the row below. I love how it looks complicated and fancy to a non-knitter. And while I count the ways I love seed stitch, I know that each love point comes with a caveat.

March - progress but slowly.

March – progress but slowly.

Dense stitches mean this is a long haul project. I’ll be looking for something to knit up quickly next time I’m browsing Ravelry.

That squishyness results from alternating knit and purl (SWYAC tutorial). But knit one, purl one have an evil twin – yarn forward, yarn back. While I’m doing the knitting equivalent of the hokey cokey, there’s no chance of developing a smooth rhythm.

Knit one, purl one, knit one, purl one... yarn forward, yarn back, yarn forward, yarn back

Knit one, purl one, knit one, purl one… yarn forward, yarn back, yarn forward, yarn back

And that orderly fashion of purl bump sorting, that only forces more rows into 4 inches than any other stitch pattern I know. For example, my current seed stitch project has 20 stitches and 40 rows in 4 inches. Seriously, 40 rows in worsted weight yarn and I’m only at 4 inches!!!

Seed Stitch Slow Progress

April – more progress and I’m loving the way the colours come through in seed stitch (Malabrigo Worsted in Tortuga)

If ever there was a knitting stitch that incorporated the love and loathe of the knitter into each loop of yarn, seed stitch would be it.

4 responses to “Seed Stitch Philosophy

  1. Moss stitch requires patience doesn’t it?! I’m sure you’ll find you speed up a little even if it’s imperceptible. I did try continenal knitting for a bit and it’s very efficient when switching between knit and purl stitches but my head couldn’t cope with the change long term šŸ™‚

    • I hadn’t even thought about Continental knitting but now you mention it I see how it could be more efficient. Perhaps I’ll have a try on my next seed stitch project – I think switching part way through might mess up my gauge.

  2. It’s definitely a longer commitment when you’re knitting with moss stitch, but just think of how lovely and cosy the finished result will be! I have a couple of moss stitch scarves that each took an absolute age to knit, but now they’re my favourites!

    • No kidding it’s a long-term project. I really should have chosen something that knitted up faster for my first clothing item since I’ used to fast cowls, mitts and such like! But I’ enjoying the squish and cosy already!

Comments, tips and suggestions?

