Lets talk about the elephant on the pile…

When I was a little girl, I loved the book ‘Elephants don’t sit on cars’ but then I loved anything elephant-themed… and I still do! I was confused about the phrase ‘the elephant in the room’ because I had so many elephants in my bedroom that they were always an immediate talking point with my baby sitters and friends.

Elephants Don't Sit on Cars

You may be asking where I am going with this. Well, there is an elephant  in my sewing room. It sits on my pile of stashed fabrics. It looms large each time I have photographed my stash for the Stash Diet or just re-folded some fabric to tidy the pile.

And looking a little trimmer at the end of March.

See… right there at the top?

The elephant, in this instance, is a piece of hessian partially adorned with denim rectangles and a plastic carrier bag of cut denim rectangles.

I’m normally a completer-finisher but this half-hearted rag rug project evaded me. Finally, last week, I decided that I could not ignore this obvious discussion point any longer and consulted my husband on the matter. We talked about the elephant in my sewing room, the one sat on my pile of fabrics.

You see, once the elephant in the room had been spoken about, my husband was very good at helping me to get to the crux of the problem. He made me realise that even though I’d invested many hours cutting denim rectangles and prodding them through the hessian, I had still many more painstaking hours to go. He probed whether I still wanted a rag rug and I confessed that I didn’t think it really fitted with our taste for interior decor. Finally he asked why I was keeping it and I realised it was because I felt I had to finish it. He told me I didn’t have to use my hobby-time on anything that I didn’t want to do.

And he is right.

9 responses to “Lets talk about the elephant on the pile…

  1. Very good advice indeed. More time for knitting and sewing!

  2. Ha, ha! Hilarious! He’s quite right and I think we could all learn from this. It’s like finishing a novel even though you are not enjoying it just because you should. I loved this post.

  3. Hear, hear! Great reminder. 🙂

  4. Good decision to get rid of it. I know from experience this can be difficult.

    • Do tell… what did you struggle to part with?

      • Garments that I started ages ago and that I later, when I had more skills and knowledge, realised won’t really flatter my figure or aren’t constructed as well as I would do now. They made me feel a bit guilty because I had spend money on the fabric and notions so perhaps I should finish them, but what is the point if I’m not going to wear it? My solution so far has been to cut the unfinished garment up and use the fabric for something else.

  5. What great advice from your husband. As I start thinking about packing for yet another move, I will have to keep his view in mind – I really don’t want to carry any elephants to my new place… especially those I have been dragging with me for the past couple of moves!

Comments, tips and suggestions?

