Inside Corner Bias Binding Tutorial

The waist facing for my bib-front sailor trousers required finishing the raw edge of an inside corner. The pattern didn’t describe how to do this and my internet searches were in vain. I’d never come cross a bias bound inside corner before but having mitered the hem of a lined vent how hard could it be to work out? This is more of a here’s what I did rather than a tutorial because, although it works, there’s surely more than one way of doing this.

I started with the obvious: an inside corner raw edge and some bias binding.

Bias Binding Inside Corners 1

On the wrong side of the facing at the inside corners I marked my seamline for the bias binding and another parallel line. Then I joined these two corners to the raw edge corner (three points make a more accurate straight line).

Bias Binding Inside Corners 2

Next I cut into the first intersection, just before the seam line. If I hadn’t used fusible interfacing I would have reinforced this by sewing along the seam line before cutting.

Bias Binding Inside Corners 3

I pinned the bias binding right sides together along the first straight edge only. With the bias binding on the bottom and the facing on the top, I made a straight stitch towards the first corner.Bias Binding Inside Corners 5Bias Binding Inside Corners 4

Stopping at the marked intersection, I lowered the needle and raised the presser foot.

Bias Binding Inside Corners 6

Keeping the bias binding in the same position, I pulled the facing (this is where the cut into the corner helps) towards me and lined it up with the bias binding.

Bias Binding Inside Corners 7 Bias Binding Inside Corners 8

Once I’d aligned the raw edges of the facing and the bias binding, I pinned the next straight edge and continued to sew.

Bias Binding Inside Corners 9

Repeating the process at the second inside corner I was left with something looking like this.

Bias Binding Inside Corners 10

I pushed the short seam allowance of the bias binding through the cut in the facing and snipped into it too.

Bias Binding Inside Corners 12 Bias Binding Inside Corners 13

After a good press of the bias away from the right side of the facing (ignoring the corners for the time being) I pushed the wider remaining part of the bias binding through the same snipped corner.

Bias Binding Inside Corners 11 Bias Binding Inside Corners 14

Time for folding. I made and pressed the first fold of the bias binding towards the raw edges on all sides (again, ignoring the corners).

Bias Binding Inside Corners 15

Concentrating one straight edge only, I made the second fold to just cover the first line of stitches.

Bias Binding Inside Corners 16

At the corner, I  pulled the bias binding so that the second fold I had been making continued past the first seam line corner.

Bias Binding Inside Corners 17

After pinning the straight edge, I flipped the facing to have the right side up. First lifting the next straight edge of bias binding upwards and smoothing the folded part as far into the corner as possible.

Bias Binding Inside Corners 18

Second, I folded it down like an envelope flap.

Bias Binding Inside Corners 19

And finally I flipped back to the wrong side, made the second fold along that straight edge and repeated at the next corner. Stitching in the ditch on the right side secured the bias binding in place.

Bias Binding Inside Corners 20

9 responses to “Inside Corner Bias Binding Tutorial

  1. Wow this looks perfect! Very detailed and easy to understand explaination too.

  2. I just did this last week after looking at a youtube video on how to attach quilt bindings in an inside corner (figured it had to be similar to using bias tape on a garment). Your method is quite similar but I think it probably gives a better result. I’m not 100% satisfied with the fold that I got so next time I’ll have a look at this tutorial!

  3. So many little tiny details make this work out beautifully! Thanks for this post.

  4. Very nice! Pinning it! Thanks!

  5. This is great! Thanks for the tutorial! Pinning for later!

  6. Brilliant tutorial. Thanks so much for the post

  7. ah! this is a marvellous tutorial! thank you so much!

Comments, tips and suggestions?

