Stash Diet 2014: Quarter 2 Weigh-In

This is the half-way point for Stash Diet 2014 and there was some reluctance to step on the scales in my house. I’d suffered a 4 week sewing machine breakdown and then I fell off the Stash Diet Wagon purchasing my first piece of fabric this year.

Half way through the year but am I halfway from 24.8kg to my goal Stash Weight of 12.4kg?

Stash-tistics at the end of Quarter 2:

Stash fabric height: 56cm (starting 90cm/ Q1 76cm) 
Stash fabric weight: 14.8kg 
(starting 23.5kg/ Q1 18.8kg)
Scrap fabric weight: 1.7kg 
(starting 1.3kg/ Q1 1.2kg)
Total stash weight: 16.5kg (starting 24.8kg/ Q1 20.0kg) —> Goal weight 12.4kg

Stash Pile June 2014

The blue marks on the wall indicate my stash heights at the start of January and April.

Buying fabric doesn’t break my self-imposed Stash Diet rules but it does make it harder for me to achieve my goal weight and I think that is evident from this weigh-in. While toiles (and I made a few of those during the second quarter) bring down the over all stash, they contribute significantly to the scrap fabric box… I need to tackle this problem zone. Any non-quilting ideas or shall I just offer the off-cuts to a quilter?

5 responses to “Stash Diet 2014: Quarter 2 Weigh-In

  1. Doesn’t seem you’re doing too bad. For the scraps I’d decide per scrap whether it is something that you’re likely to use at some point (pocket linings, zipper pouches, baby t-shirts etc.), if not, give it away. Or decide that a scrap needs to be a minimum size to be allowed to stay.

  2. You’ve done much better than I have. I keep falling off the wagon! While I’ve used a lot of my stash fabrics, I’ve also purchased a fair amount. And as you say, the scraps pile up. I like to save mine for bags, so that doesn’t get them out of my storage!

  3. Looks like you’re doing pretty well to me 🙂 What to do with scraps? Tricky isn’t it. I often use mine making little gifts – purses, fabric flowers or yo-yos. Perhaps try taking a look at some crafting blogs for ideas??

  4. I started a scrap fabric pinterest board to try and help me with the what to do with the scraps issue… http://www.pinterest.com/isthathomemade/fabric-left-overs/ its not finished but maybe you’ll see something that would help.

  5. You’re doing really well!

Comments, tips and suggestions?

