We wear short shorts

When my husband asked over the telephone what I was making next, I burst into the 50s song “Short Shorts“. It’s true, I was making short shorts!

I received a 6 month subscription to Burda Style magazine as a joint birthday and Christmas present so I had rummage through the last couple of issues to inspire some summer holiday makes. The pattern is number 124 from issue 06/2014.

Burda 062014 124 Front

The fabric leftover from this dress and is a stretch woven cotton so perfect for this type of fitted make which has a side zip. I graded from a 34 waist to a 36 hip, scooped a tiny bit out of the back curve (a miniscule wedgie adjustment) and omitted the silly crotch flaps. Underneath those flappy things is actually a smart, clean-lined pair of shorts prime for a bold print.

Burda 062014 124 Back

If it wasn’t for my dedication to Stash Diet 2014 I’d be making a few more pairs in other bold prints. I’ve been virtual window shopping and coveting these beauties…

Shorts Fabric Inspiration (640x222)

Left to Right: Murad Stretch Cotton – Fabric Godmother, Retro Printed Red Cotton – Stone Fabrics, Waterfront Park Domino Dot – The Village Haberdashery, African Wax Print Super Julius Hollandais – ebay seller vitenge

17 responses to “We wear short shorts

  1. Loving them!! And there is a strange ( but totally explainable due to time of year) shorts Fest going on across the sewing blogs, I’m lapping it up and adding to it myself, love sewing shorts too!! So were these shorts the ‘nautical’ style ones that were made in a bright stripe and modelled by ‘the nutritionist’? Nice cut!!

    • The nautical button front ones and the crotch flap ones are quite similar (think the back pattern piece is same). These ones have a side zip so no need for front flap facings. I liked those ones too though.

  2. They look great! I wasn’t keen on the pattern in the magazine, but without the flaps they look so much nicer.

  3. lovely! i love the print and the fit looks great! way better than the mag pictures.

  4. Your shorts look fantastic! So pretty in floral!

  5. So cute! I still haven’t mastered shorts…I might give them one more try this summer and then resign myself to buying RTW. It’s hard to use patterns without changing them so much (to fit my Midwestern pancake butt) that they no longer resemble the original pattern, anyway. We’ll see…And kudos for your dedication to the stash diet! I lasted about 4 months is all. Oops. :-/

    • It’s worth persevering, once you have one well fitting pattern you can just line up the crotch curve to new patterns to give you a head start on adjustments that will be needed for the new make.
      Oh and I did slip off the Stash Diet making one fabric purchase so I’m no angel!

  6. Wow! Two thumbs up for a wonderfully bold and great fitting pair of shorts! Your dedication to the stash diet is very impressive! These shorts are really fabulous and they would look lovely in all of the prints you posted.

  7. I really like these shorts! I have to admit liked them with the strange flaps as well, but yours are definitely less controversial.
    But I feel you really need to go and buy some fabrics now! You know how unhealthy diets are, don’t you? Yo-yo effect!!! And in some place of the sewing universe someone (such as possibly me…) has to buy inordinate amounts of fabrics to restore the balance 😉

  8. The simplifying of the pattern has really made your ‘short-shorts’ and using up your lovely geometric/floral fabric was inspired. Super stash busting just in time for the summer x

  9. Such cute shorts. You look the bees knees!

  10. Pssssst! Those are cute~~ I have no stashbust oath and might get my hands on that Murad Stretch Cotton.

Comments, tips and suggestions?

