Out damn spot

I’ve been coveting McCalls 6751  since Ange posted her striped version and it finally made it into my stash to meet the minimum spend for free delivery from Jaycotts.

McCalls 6751 View A Side

I squeezed the pattern pieces of view A into the oddly shaped remaining piece of spotty cotton in my stash (previously seen here, here and here) and set to work French seaming the sides and shoulders.

McCalls 6751 View A Back

I half followed the advice of other bloggers in making this top: narrowing the front piece to reduce some of the billowy, boxy shape worked very well. I should have heeded the advice to bind the continuous raw edge instead of narrow hemming because I’m not happy with the neckline (hot off the ironing board it looks great but put on straight out of a suitcase and I’m not so keen to admit I made it!).

McCalls 6751 View A Front

Nevertheless, I vowed to make at least one other view from this pattern before holidaying and even removed the seam allowances there and then as a reminder to me to bind the raw edges!

8 responses to “Out damn spot

  1. Lovely! I like the unusual back.

  2. This is lovely – have just ordered the pattern!

  3. Cute! I’ve had this pattern in my stash for awhile now. I believe this is the first one I’ve seen made up. I really like it!

  4. So cute….& thanks for the shout out. I swore Id make another after the stripey first but we’ve not had a summer at all this year so I didnt bother….next year though x

  5. Pingback: Sunday Sew Love: 31 August | Life by Ky

Comments, tips and suggestions?

