Heritable Crafting

Unfortunately I returned home from holidays to sad news. I didn’t sew for the remainder of August, instead slowly sorting through four biscuit tins of crafting items with mixed emotions as you might imagine. I wanted to share some of these things with you as it’s always nice to see crafting implements of days gone by and I need some help identifying some of them!

Unlike me, this lady had a penchant for scissors with 5 pairs in these four tins alone (I am told there are more if I want them – I wouldn’t use them though as I really like my left-handed fabric scissors). I’ve also never seen a tailor’s chalk holder like that but I imagine it’s quite useful.

Inherited Scissors

This next little lot tickled me. Coats bias binding for 27 1/2 pence – the half pence went out of use in 1984. The lace is a little faded but what a racy colour of red, don’t you think?27 and a half pence binding

Next up just a tiny selection of the thread that was stored in the tins. Some are wooden like these ones but most are plastic spools. One of the biscuit tins has dividers in so I sorted the thread back into it by colour. Limes and yellows were the most popular and I got wondering whether this was because my relative liked to sew garments in those colours or if the thread is leftover as she made those shades less frequently?

 

Inherited wooden spools

 

And finally, can you help me to identify any of these items? I think the top left is a stitch holder for knitting but the other two have me baffled. Any ideas?

Inherited mystery items

9 responses to “Heritable Crafting

  1. Sorry for your loss. I have a similar sewing box that was my grans that I was given last year, and although she was more of a knitter than a sewist, I haven’t really had the heart to go through it. There is a kit for mending nylon stockings though – can you imagine how difficult that must be?

    Is the very bottom thing a loop Turner?

  2. I’m sorry for your loss, it’s always extra devastating when these things happen during your holiday.
    I think the bottom item is a loop turner. I’m not sure about the others. I’ts great though to inherit some of these old sewing tools and notions.

  3. Our condolences on your loss but these items will bring back memories as time goes by. The top one is indeed a stitch holder. The middle one is a type of clasp which is stitched on each opening and threads through and back to create a closer. The final one is for making fine fabric tubes or rouleaux. Xx

  4. Sorry to hear of your loss. Hopefully sewing with these items will bring some comfort.

  5. I don’t have any insight on what the tools were for, but I just want to say very sorry for your loss. Hope you are ok, and that being able to carry on using these items would help.

  6. Such a sad time, but hope you were able to remember some of the good times while sorting through this stuff. Best wishes to you.

  7. That is so sad for you and while on holiday too. They are lovely things to treasure and remember your relative by though. The bottom one is definitely a loop turner – great for roleau straps.

  8. Pingback: Warm, Cosy and Reversible Neckwarmer | Clipped Curves

Comments, tips and suggestions?

