Maroon Renfrew

Very soon after unwrapping, I traced out both of the new patterns I received for Christmas but before I got to cut into fabric I came down with a cold which developed into sinusitis and that put a slow start to my 2015 sewing.

Nevertheless, I have a completed item to show you and photos with a put on smile because I’m still suffering with that hit-in-the-face-by-a-crowbar-feeling that is synonymous with sinusitis.

Sewaholic Renfrew 1

Sewaholic Renfrew. There’s a very good reason why this pattern is so popular. Love the cowl. Exclusively sewn on my overlocker with Jane‘s approach to thread colour – matching in the left needle, too bright red in the right needle, slightly too purple and slightly too pink in the loopers but what the heck it’s using stashed thread!

Sewaholic Renfrew 2

I started by cutting an 8 all over… that was a drowsy painkiller decision. I had to go back over the side seams and right down the arms making what I think will equate to bust 6, waist 4, hips 8, shoulders 6 and wrists 2. I’ve made those changes to the pattern pieces, also lengthened the top by 1 inch and shortened the sleeves by 1 1/2 inches. I may also need a sway back adjustment but I’ll re-assess once I’ve made a second version with my new, more accurate, grading between sizes pattern pieces!

Sewaholic Renfrew 3

Oh yes, the fabric. It’s just perfect for a Renfrew. It’s a fairly stable knit with not too much stretch and excellent recovery. Purchased from Ditto Fabrics on our trip to Brighton last year. I couldn’t see this exact colour on the website but how nice is the Deep Peacock they currently have in stock?

Wait… what’s the obligatory, I’ve popped my Renfrew cherry pose again?

Sewaholic Renfrew 4

6 responses to “Maroon Renfrew

  1. A great staple piece. Hope you’re feeling better soon 🙂

  2. What a lovely top – looks nice and snuggly which is def what you need right now!
    Great colour too – about five of my blogger friends (myself included) have just posted about their recent make in burgundy / maroon / claret / wine. Seems its the colour of the moment!

  3. Very nice! And you are putting on a great face despite the sinus pain! (I know how it is, and I don’t think I ever manage to smile as nicely!) Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  4. lifeaworkinprogress.com

    I love the colour and the fit. I have been resisting Renfrew, couldn’t see the difference between that and the TNT tee shirt pattern I already use, but this is lovely. BTW where is the ‘Like’ button on your site?

  5. Pingback: Spring Sewing and Stabilising Shoulders | Clipped Curves

Comments, tips and suggestions?

