“Life is a pantomime so dress the part”

Let’s recap where I’m up to with Simplicity 1609…

Simplicity 1609 Retro Glasses

I started with a size 12 all over, swivelled the bust dart, lengthened the French dart, took in the side seams to a size 8 at the bust, took 3 1/2 inches from the hem, removed the centre front seam and debated how to eradicate some back neckline gape.

Simplicity 1609 Retro Glasses d

I transferred the adjustments, flagged up by the blue version, to my paper pattern and set to work. This time lining with ivory satin so that it’s a little bit special.

Simplicity 1609 Retro Glasses b

I couldn’t use fashion fabric facings because the black glasses print would show through but it is fully lined and the front neckline is understitched to prevent rolling.

Simplicity 1609 Retro Glasses c

Having just 2 meters of this narrow fabric I didn’t get much choice about pattern matching. The best I could do was ensure that the rows of glasses were level all the way around. I would have liked to match the actual frame styles though.

Simplicity 1609 Retro Glasses e

“Life is a pantomime so dress the part” was the quote that came to mind when I purchased this fabric (Riley Blake, Geeky Chic Collection this is Geeky Glasses by Dorothy Tsang). It’s been in my stash for nearly two years because it was expensive and I was afraid to use it. I’m also not one for novelty prints. Can I pull it off without looking like I’m going to a fancy dress party?

Simplicity 1609 Retro Glasses f

11 responses to ““Life is a pantomime so dress the part”

  1. Doesn’t look like fancy dress at all. It’s lovely and all of your fitting work really paid off!

  2. Cute dress! I don’t think it’s fancy dress like and I’m glad you used it after all this time πŸ™‚

  3. Peferct A line dress! And your pattern matching is ace!πŸ’ƒπŸ‘πŸ‘

  4. I love it! I’m not super keen on novelty prints either, but this is great, it’s subtle while still being fun.

  5. Quirky but not fancy dress, looks fab on you! πŸ˜€

  6. What a fun print! The dress is awesome. You’ve chosen a great comination of pattern and fabric.
    Greetings from Germany,
    Miriam

  7. That’s one chic little shift! I love the glasses and the style of it.

  8. Cute dress, it definitely does not look fancy dress – it’s fun and classy

  9. Love the fabric! The dress looks great on you. I know what you mean about being afraid to cut into expensive fashion fabric. I usually need some time to pass before I can cut it, too. πŸ˜‰

  10. You totally pull it off – it’s adorable!

  11. Excellent fabric! Not remotely fancy dress! Fits like a dream

Comments, tips and suggestions?

