Elephant Pyjamas

My penchant for elephants (see here for evidence) and lasting habits of last years’ stash diet have produced a rather interesting pair of pyjamas. The weather is heating up here in the UK so some shorts pyjamas were thrust to the top of my sewing list.

Elephant Pyjamas

I hadn’t intended them to turn out quite so Muai Thai shorts-esque but I didn’t have  enough elephant lawn leftover for both a top and shorts. The contrasting cotton remnant (also from my stash) seemed a good idea at the time.

Elephant Pyjama Shorts

I used a self-drafted pyjama bottoms pattern and made them as long as I could with the fabric I had. Using a 4cm hem to match the hem of the top, I got all particular and changed thread colour for the side panels.

Elephant Pyjamas Top C

The top was a proof of concept make: Could a contrasting fabric work for the front pieces of Burda 04/2014 blouse 115? And could I competently re-draft the armscye to be sleeveless? No and yes respectively – although if you’d asked me to guess prior to sewing I’d have said the contrast was certain to work but my drafting would be doubtful.

Elephant Pyjamas Top A

As pyjamas it’s fine but I don’t think a contrast front can be achieved without some finely honed skills in fabric selection. Which I don’t have. I struggle to mix more than one print/colour into a garment so mostly I opt for matching facings/bindings/lining and avoid combining fashion fabrics all together.

I envisage sewing another shorts pyjama set in the near future… I’ve been online browsing for suitable fabric!

3 responses to “Elephant Pyjamas

  1. Ooo I really like them! I have this exact same fabric and I’m still not to sure what to do with it…

  2. I gotta say that I like the contrast!

  3. I keep seeing that fabric on everyone’s makes and I just love it! I love what you’ve done with the contrast, especially the top.

Comments, tips and suggestions?

