Liola Patterns Ella Top

I hope you are enjoying the summer as much as I am. Between sunny weekends, weddings, christenings and birthday barbecues, I haven’t done much sewing. However, my latest finished items epitomises summer and was finished just as the rain arrived: a cotton voile tank.

Liola Patterns Ella Top f

Have you heard of Liola Patterns? I hadn’t either till I saw Elena’s Ella Tank. The yoke and pleat caught my attention and the easily wearable shape helped me to justify the pattern purchase!

Liola Patterns Ella Top b

The fabric was spotted during an idle ebay browsing session (ebay seller: ontrendfabrics). I was won over by the abstract print, colours and because I hadn’t sewn with voile before it was going to be a new fabric experience.When it was delivered, the voile was (excuse my ignorance if you are a fabric identification whiz) a lighter, more sheer version of lawn. Yep, all the joy of being easy to sew coupled with a surprising amount of drape for a cotton.

Liola Patterns Ella Top i

The drape and sheerness was lovely but just a little too indecent to be worn as a top – I underlined in plain white voile which made the bright colours pop just a little more.

Liola Patterns Ella Top g

The Ella tank pattern has a faced yoke but having already underlined the shell fabric, I French seamed the yoke seam and omitted the facing. And why stop there, I French seamed the shoulder and side seams too – a great way to turn a quick project into something more substantial and double the sewing time required to complete it!

Liola Patterns Ella Top d

The neckline and arms are finished with bias binding so I echoed that stitching by top stitching the back yoke.

Liola Patterns Ella Top c

I made a few alterations to the pattern pieces: raised and rotated the bust darts, lowered and scooped out the armscye, graded in at the waist, full hip adjustment and a forward shoulder adjustment.  Some typical alterations for me and a couple of new ones.

Liola Patterns Ella Top a

I’m happy with the end result though. Very wearable and very me.

Liola Patterns Ella Top e

12 responses to “Liola Patterns Ella Top

  1. Absolutely gorgeous!

  2. Love that print – it’s gorgeous! I believe lawn is more tightly woven and smoother than voile, so it tends to be more opaque. Voile tends to be more loosely woven.

  3. Looks lovely & I bet you wear it loads. Love how neat the insides look, so much worth the extra time 😃

  4. I have never heard of Liola patterns- One of the reason I like perusing blogs is one always learns about something new! Its a great tank and I really like the fabric print.

  5. Very nice work, and it looks great on you.

  6. Very nicely done and the fabric choice is perfection!!!

  7. Really lovely! Simple but very chic and the finish is so professional! x

  8. I smiled at your comment on turning a simple make into something more time-consuming! However it certainly paid off and looks great on you 🙂

  9. This fabric takes the pattern to another level! It looks great!

Comments, tips and suggestions?

