Autumn Southport

It’s not often that I repeat a pattern but sometimes, just sometimes, a really good one comes along that allows for a variety of fabrics and spans multiple seasons. C&H lawn

Finding a bolt-end of lawn on the C&H remnant table certainly helped push me towards a third True Bias Southport Dress.

soutport true bias autumn

I knew I could fit a short Southport dress out of 1.5m because I had only 1.1m when I made my first purple paisley one (so I have 40cm left for another project!). The changes I made to the pattern pieces for my neon maxi Southport were carried forward to this make.

autumn southport backThe colours of the lawn are particularly autumnal to me so a transition dress that I could layer up with tights and a cardigan (and maybe a long sleeve tee underneath towards winter!) was the look I was going for.

Southport with cardiI added a lining so that the skirt doesn’t ride up my tights and used satin bias binding at the neck and armholes.

southport lined skirt

The buttons were selected by my husband because I was being indecisive… “maybe these ones, but these ones are nice too and I like these but I think they’re too big” You know how it is. Anyway, I agree now that he made a good choice. They have a slight ombre effect so I was careful to sew them on so that the direction of the gradient was all the same.

autumn southport sun

When I finished the dress and placed it on Thelma, the autumn sun was beaming into my sewing room and I knew it was going to spend more time in the washing basket than the wardrobe!

Southport dress autumn

9 responses to “Autumn Southport

  1. Lovely. A beautiful fabric – even a floral!
    Great idea about adding a lining and you have the fit nailed on this dress now too. It is great to sew up something you have made before because you know it is going to work!

  2. I like sewing patterns a couple of times. Just so familiar and easy! Your dress is lovely, the fabric is so pretty too!

  3. Your dress looks great and certainly spans the seasons!

  4. Lovely, would work great layered up. Very pretty print, got a love a bargain 🙂

  5. The fabric is just lovely! And yes, your husband did make a good choice with the buttons 😉 After reviewing all of the entries in the Everyday Casual category, I have to give you my vote- excellent job on the satin bias binding! I appreciate any feedback on my own entry in the Pattern hacking category (I’m entry #8)- thank you and once again, fabulous work!

  6. Your dress is really pretty! I have the Southport pattern but haven’t made it yet. I think I’ll be making a lot next year.

  7. Pingback: Navy Ponte Leggings – Vogue 1440 | Clipped Curves

  8. Pingback: Warm, Cosy and Reversible Neckwarmer | Clipped Curves

Comments, tips and suggestions?

