Navy Ponte Leggings – Vogue 1440

When I made my Autumn Southport dress, I wanted to further extend the wearability into winter. I’ve nailed layering with a long sleeve t-shirt underneath and a cosy cardigan on top but brrrrr the chills go right through tights.

I wasn’t the fastest sock knitter so knitting wooly tights was out of the question (although I can’t stop browsing knitted tights on Ravelry and Pinterest!). The next best option was to sew some leggings.

V1440 Front

For the pattern I used Vogue 1440 modifying the tapered leg trouser silhouette to a fitted legging. The pattern is intended for knit fabrics such as ponte so the alterations were relatively easy.V1440 Back

I placed an online order for some navy and some mushroom ponte from Truro Fabrics. This ponte is really very good quality, it doesn’t have the sheen that cheaper options have and is incredibly soft for such a sturdy knit.

V1440 Side

When I attached the elastic waistband, I also incorporated a ribbon tab at the centre back for easy orientation.

V1440 Centre Back Ribbon

Finally, I had some excess length that I should have just cut off and hemmed with a twin needle top stitch but I was overcome with an urge to turn them into ski pants. In the interests of fashion, do not try this at home kids.

V1440 Side Ski Pants

If you don’t care that 3 decades have passed since this look was ‘in’ then go ahead, cut a 2 1/2 inch slit for your heel, zig-zag or overlock the cut edge to reinforce it then enjoy the warmth provided by a second layer on your feet and the knowledge that your leggings will stay firmly in your boots this winter.

5 responses to “Navy Ponte Leggings – Vogue 1440

  1. You really nailed the fit on these – Good Job! I like your tip about the stirrups for your feet, too. I remember those. They’re great for keeping your pants or tights from riding up. So comfy!

  2. In the US we called these stir-up pants…. and I LOVE that you’re bringing ’em back!

  3. He He I remember ski-pant leggings. I think you might start a new trend! Lovely fit on these Emma-Jayne.

  4. Hey I loved the “ski pant” idea. There is nothing worse than leggings sliding up when you are putting on boots! Nice job on the fitting!

  5. Haven’t seen stirrup bottoms for years, but can see they might well work well. Less droughts and they stay put? Very practical!

Comments, tips and suggestions?

