Lampshade Making at Tea and Crafting

Instead of making New Years resolutions, I set myself 12 challenges to complete during 2015. One of those challenges was to learn a new skill. Making a lampshade seemed sufficiently different from my usual fabric creations to allow me to complete this challenge satisfactorily.

I chose the Bespoke Lampshade Making class at Tea and Crafting, a cute venue right in the hustle and bustle of Camden. I follow the Tea and Crafting blog so it was a pleasure to see their Hoop Art (from a recent blog post) on the walls of their neat little crafting room showcasing the classes they offer in a suitably visual way.

Lampshade After

The class materials include all the components required to make a cylindrical lampshade using your own fabric.

Lampshade Attach

There were a lovely array of fabric selections brought in by my fellow classmates. Everything from curtain remnants to former skirts (love a bit of up-cycling). My fabric was purchased specifically for this class (because I couldn’t possibly use something already in my stash now could I?). The print is from the Modern Neutrals collection by Amy Ellis and was purchased from Raystitch.

Lampshade Top

The 2 hour class was taught by Laura of Laura Felicity who has infectious enthusiasm and a natural teaching style. Laura shared her expertise and tricks of the trade with our small group to produce 5 exceptional lampshades.

Lampshade Class

Interestingly, the lamp base was made by my Uncle who likes to do wood turning in his free time. After the class, I couldn’t wait to get home to assemble the base and shade to see the final handmade bedside lamp.

Lampshade On

I’m really pleased with how well they work together, the wood really compliments the fabric and I have plenty of fabric left for a ceiling shade… or maybe cushion covers… or a quilt…

6 responses to “Lampshade Making at Tea and Crafting

  1. It looks great, will done. I love the wooden base – I have lots of wooden pieces of all sorts. I’ve never tried either lampshade making or woodturning. Mm. The idea of setting challenges in the New Year is great. I might copy that but would cut the number!

  2. Fantastic lampshade! It looks like from a shop, but a whole load better.
    Your take at new year’s resolutions sounds like an inspired idea. I’m already itching to draw up a list of things I might want to do next year.

  3. This is brilliant!

  4. Looks great. Will you be making more?

  5. What a lovely and unusual make, they all look very professional.

Comments, tips and suggestions?

