Yorkshire Yarn Excitement and Two Hats

After knitting socks without a hint of second sock syndrome, I appear to have acquired a compulsion to knit in pairs. Although not matching, these hats seemed a logical double project.

When a wool band reads “Born, Bred and Made in Yorkshire” and you are born, bred and made in Yorkshire, you know immediately you have to buy the yarn… in three different colours. I don’t think I’ve been as excited or impulsive about a yarn before. Serious warm fuzzy feelings inside and out.

Ramsdale

Ramsdale is Yorkshire wool (all 100% of it) from Masham fleece. Not only that but each of the 12 shades are named after Yorkshire market towns or villages. I bought two red, one navy and one neutral. Also known as Settle (amazing walking), Hawes (highest market town in England, I don’t even know why I remember that fact) and Malham (location of too many Geography school trips but I can still appreciateĀ  it’s natural beauty).

Ombre Hat b

As if hailing from North Yorkshire wasn’t enough, this yarn has great qualities… good squish, soft without pilling, not scratchy and nice to knit with.

Lateu Hat

The hats; ombre and Latu. Ombre because I was itching to try stranded colour work without committing too much (I’m not ready for a full on Fair Isle Jumper project yet) and Latu because I really liked the neat cable pattern. Both are free patterns – I’m always terribly grateful that knitters share these patterns so generously on Ravelry.

Lateu Wrist Warmers and Hat

I had did use some of the second ball of red making the hat but there was plenty left for a pair of wristwarmers. I fudged the cable pattern of Latu onto a gauge adjusted version of Anna Wilkinson’s wristwarmer pattern. These are knit flat and seamed afterwards so I knit with both ends of the yarn at the same time until I had just enough left to cast off and seam – I hate waste!

Ombre Hat a

4 responses to “Yorkshire Yarn Excitement and Two Hats

  1. Lovely. Glad you got a nice warm fuzzy feeling supporting local Yorkshire wool manufacturers. And that will continue now you have these awesome hats. The colour work on your blue hat is my favourite!
    I remember going on Geography trips to Malham as well as lots of family visits as my dad loved geology!

  2. Ooo! Your blue and grey hat is gorgeous, and I love the look of that yarn.

  3. Looks great! I too love the blue mix. Happy New Year!

  4. Looks super on you, lovely yarn

Comments, tips and suggestions?

