Simplicity 1325

Simplicity 1325

I’m still catching up on blogging my 2015 makes. This dress unfortunately wasn’t quite ready for Christmas but was finished by New Years. I wished I’d gotten round to photographing it over the holidays because it was much warmer back then. I was very reluctant to part with my coat even for just a few outside photographs today.

Simplicity 1325 front

The bodice took a lot of work and multiple toiles to get the fit right, perhaps I could have done more but over-fitted can be restrictive. It’s hard to know when to stop sometimes. My fitting changes included narrowing and angling the shoulders, a small bust adjustment, raising and rotating the bust darts and raising the neckline (less about exposure, more to do with creating a more flattering line) and that was just the front bodice.

Simplicity 1325 side

The construction is fairly standard and includes a lined bodice but I wanted to go further and line the skirt too. Life is too short to suffer skirt riding up tights. As always, I turned a relatively simple dress into something more complex but I must have been absorbed by this make because I even catch-stitched the hem by hand (I’ll do anything to avoid hand sewing).

Simplicity 1325 lined bodice

Simplicity 1325 lined skirt

The fabric? Gorgeous indigo chambray from Dragonfly Fabrics – a lovely birthday present from my husband. The lining was a stash relic that I’ve always loved the colour of and waited patiently for the right item to be lined in it.

Simplicity 1325 back

3 responses to “Simplicity 1325

  1. Love it, looks really special with that lining and all the fitting work. When I was in Korea in August they had dresses with that very same cut at the front and the circle skirt, it made me really want to buy this pattern, but somehow I didn’t, I’ll make sure I put it on my list now.

  2. Love this! The front detail looks perfect over the white tee you’ve styled it with. The fit looks spot on to me, so worth taking your time over 🙂

Comments, tips and suggestions?

