Burda Jumper

What do you make once you’ve got your sew-jo back? The time and motivation to sew was there but the inspiration not quite flowing yet. Browsing through a year’s Burda Style magazine subscription and refolding my stash I managed to pair a soft taupe-mushroom ponte from Truro Fabrics with an open shoulder sweater. I’m not a huge sweater fan but I do have a soft spot for a quirky feature.

The pattern is #113 from 03/2014 edition of Burda Style. I omitted the leather elbow patches (ick) and the pocket. I also took the liberty of switching the suggesting Petersham ribbon at the shoulder opening for interfaced cotton lawn. I like the contrast and it’s always satisfying to use up some smaller scraps from my fabric stash.

Burda 113 03-2013 b

It’s a really quick make -the dropped shoulders and boxy style mean there is no fitting required. However the Burda instructions for the shoulder opening were confusing. I muddled through and ended up with something functional.

Burda 113 03-2013 d

My sew-jo was back but I still took over two months to get round to photographing and blogging. Like many others, any spare time I have I’d rather use for sewing or, more recently, playing and cuddling our puppy.

6 responses to “Burda Jumper

  1. Looks warm and cosy with cute details!

  2. A great little sweater to bring back the sewing magic.
    What a cutie – what’s your puppy called? He / she looks adorable!

  3. Love that shoulder detail and your use of contrast fabric. Looks a really useful top.

  4. I really like the contrast fabric it really adds some interest. Puppy is cute too!

  5. I like the shoulder opening – good idea using the contrasting fabric. Very nice!!

Comments, tips and suggestions?

