Fleck T-shirt

New patterns are exciting but it’s also nice to return to an old favorite pattern that you know is as much a staple wardrobe piece as it is an easy sew.

Fleck Scoop T a

The scoop top is a free pattern by Skirt as Top and one that I’ve made twice before; a stripe version (I still swoon over the stripe matching in those photographs) and a plain version. The stripe version was worn to death, recycled as a dusting cloth and finally textile recycles and the plain was a step too close to pink for me so made a hasty escape as a charity shop donation. Nevertheless, I knew my pattern pieces were a good fit and I found the perfect jersey in my stash.

Fleck Scoop T  c

It’s a raindow fleck slub t-shirt jersey. There’s a Robert Kaufman (£££) version of this but I’m going to be honest and say mine was just a few pounds per meter from Walthamstow High Street (a shop without a name above the door!).The colourful little flecks are delightful… how is it that little details in fabric can bring such joy?

Fleck Scoop T  d

I decided to shake things up and make turn-up sleeves (useful tutorial here). I kinda like them but should make them looser if I tried again… that or ease off the press-ups!

Fleck Scoop T  g

Have you made any basics with a twist recently? Funky fabric or cuffs?

7 responses to “Fleck T-shirt

  1. Your top looks lovely, the cuffs are a really nice addition. I’ve often wondered about adding cuffs to a t-shirt pattern so thanks for the tutorial link. I’ve just finished a Deer & Doe plantain tee dress (not blogged yet) – this is my go-to t-shirt pattern and I’ve made it short sleeved, 3/4 sleeved, long-sleeved, t-shirt dress – such a versatile pattern!

  2. What a great-looking jersey fabric – it gives such a nice texture to the fabric. I’m just starting a batch of T-shirts myself at the moment and I was hunting for a tutorial on sleeve cuffs, so a big thank you for that link too.

  3. This looks like a great wardrobe staple and I love the addition of the cuffs to add extra interest.

  4. Great job! I have this pattern and am glad to see a different version. Thanks for the inspiration!

Comments, tips and suggestions?

