Hand Dyed Nurmilintu

I received the most amazing Christmas gift of a yarn dying workshop tutored by Daisy of Devon Sun Yarns and hosted at Carmen’s shop A Yarn Story. The workshop was a full day of learning, creating and fun in a gorgeous shop packed full of inspiration… I had such a great time.

A Yarn Story Bath

Workshop participants had the opportunity to try two different dyeing techniques, browse (and buy from) Carmen’s carefully curated yarn shop and ate a fantastic lunch too. The first technique that Daisy showed us was painting a skein of yarn. I have plans for this yarn and have balled it ready to knit but it’s not the one I’m writing about today.

The second technique was dip dying a pre-knitted blank into baths of dye to achieve a true colour gradient. I selected a sock yarn with a silver sparkle thread in it and mixed three colours that I thought would make a pretty gradient. I had expected to get a brown, blue and plum so I was quite surprised to see the yarn come out rust, indigo and pink. I have great respect for independent yarn dyers like Daisy… selecting and mixing colours is not easy.

Hand dyed yarn blank

I was surprised at the outcome of the dyed yarn but not disappointed. It’s a great colour scheme and one that would fit right into my Mum’s wardrobe. What better way to thank her for the gift of the workshop than by making something out of my hand dyed creation?

Nurmilintu hand dyed yarn d

The dying was done to a pre-knitted blank which you can knit directly from. However, I wanted the colours the other way up on the shawl so I balled it allowing me to start knitting from the other end. Obviously drying the blank had crimped the yarn but it knit just fine and these crinkles came out on blocking the finished shawl.

Nurmilintu hand dyed yarn b

I have had the Nurmilintu shawl pattern by Heidi Alander queued on Ravelry since I saw Marrie’s Coastal Nurmlintu. It’s a great pattern that is reversible and consists entirely of knit stitches or variations of knit stitches (no purling). The alternating lace and garter sections mean there are some easy parts and some that need more attention – I like the variety. The pattern can be repeated as many times as needed which is perfect when you have no idea how many meters you have.

I enjoyed yarn dying so much that I bought one of Daisy’s yarn dying kits with a skein of DK so that I could have another go at home. I’ll knit up the other yarn I dyed at the workshop first before I dye the DK but I’m looking forward to more hand dyed projects in the future.

Nurmilintu hand dyed yarn c

3 responses to “Hand Dyed Nurmilintu

  1. What beautiful colours. I am sure your mum absolutely loves her new shawl. Such delicate work on the fancy ‘lace’ sections of the knit. You seem to be getting into more knitted garments recently. It looks like a lot of fun!

  2. So beautiful! I knit this pattern last year (I think!) in charcoal, but I much prefer your hand-dyed version! Such a great pattern too, isn’t it?

  3. Your shawl is gorgeous. You have inspired me to get out my blank (far less beautifully subtle) and start knitting.

Comments, tips and suggestions?

