Brenna Coat

The Brenna Coat from the Cali Faye Collection was a last minute addition to my birthday wishlist. Nevertheless, my wishlist was granted and I felt it only right, having the day off work, that I ventured out on my actual birthday to purchase some fabric for it.

birthday fabrics

I’ve been meaning to go to Mad Jaks fabric shop in Shere since first hearing about it from Anna… around 7 years ago. Firstly, I think the shop may have changed premises since Anna wrote about it because it’s very easy to find and secondly, the dress fabrics advertised on their website do not do the shop justice at all. The floor space dedicated to fabric (it’s a clothing shop too) is small but unlike other small fabric shops it isn’t ruled by quilting cottons and childish prints. There is a genuine bias towards real dress fabrics in wearable colours. I had quite a lengthy browse eventually settling on some citrus jersey, white textured jersey and pale blue-grey linen-look poly (the green stripe was a birthday present but I’m counting them all as birthday fabrics).

Brenna Coat Califaye a

Back to the Brenna Coat pattern… I cut a size S and made no alterations. Which was just as well because there were just two days to make this before a wedding I wanted to wear it for.

Brenna Coat Enbroidery

Can we pause for a second here to enjoy the spotty lining and also some hand sewing. I don’t know what came over me. I hate hand sewing never mind embroidery but as the coat construction progressed I found myself making it more and more special. A good sign that it’s going to be a wardrobe favourite.

Brenna Coat Lining

More lining appreciation and for good reason: Silky satin is a complete pain to sew and melts at the slightest glance from an iron. The poly outer fabric needed some heat for pressing. Combine the two and there’s a recipe for disaster before we even take into account the Houdini tendencies of satin lining to slither during cutting and sewing. So, yes, I will roll the sleeves up and show off that lining at any opportunity because I’m  proud to have gotten it attached at all (and not embarrassed about the puckers).

 

Brenna Coat Califaye Pattern

The coat pattern is gorgeous… clean lines, in-seam pockets, fully lined and a style that can be just as cool over a wedding guest dress as it can be with jeans. Do you think a winter version in wool might be on the cards? You betcha!

Brenna Coat Cuffs

 

9 responses to “Brenna Coat

  1. Beautiful coat, i love grey and the simple lines.

  2. First of all a belated Happy Birthday!
    This looks stunning and I think you should be very proud of that hand embroidery and the origami-ninja-skills of your spotty satin lining.
    I’m looking forward to the winter version.

  3. It look great, super stylish and love the fabrics, silky satin is so hard to get spot on and yours looks fab, I’ve not seen this jacket before but looks a great piece for autumn and layering. I love you hand stitching too

  4. Your coat is beautiful! I hope you are making a winter version too!

  5. There’s a lovely drape on that coat. The lining is a perfect touch. So professional looking!

  6. So lovely! And such a great achievement, lined jackets are always something to be proud of!

  7. Pingback: Autumn Basics: Renfrew | Clipped Curves

  8. Pingback: Happy Julia | Clipped Curves

Comments, tips and suggestions?

