Autumn Basics: Renfrew

I’d happily mark  the start of autumn sewing every year with a Renfrew.

textured-renfrew-1

With the scoop neck view, it’s a staple basic that can be worn under with dresses and with skirts or trousers.

textured-renfrew-3

I noticed over the summer that my store-bought white long sleeve t-shirt was looking a little worse for wear. So when I also found a textured white jersey at Mad Jak’s I knew exactly what I needed to sew (my thoughts on Mad Jak’s as a fabric shop here). This fabric is just as pleasing as other fabrics I’ve purchased at Mad Jak’s, good quality, fair price and washes well.

testured-renfrew-2

As far as I can remember, this was my first time sewing with a textured knit. It took a bit of extra care over pattern piece cutting – I treated it the same you would with any striped, directional print. The neck band was carefully placed so that when folded it had the cleanest line. I used a hem band but just folded the sleeves. The finishing touch was a twin needle top stitching at the neckline, sleeves and hem but it’s purely functional as it’s visibly lost in the texture.

4 responses to “Autumn Basics: Renfrew

  1. Lovely fabric. I love Renfrew for an autumn basic too.

  2. You lined everything up just perfectly. Nice work!

  3. This is lovely, I’m such a fan of the Renfrew and a textured knit is a great way to add interest to a plain white top

  4. That fabric is lovely, and isn’t it great to be able to make wardrobe basics like this?

Comments, tips and suggestions?

