Storm Waterfall

Only I could knit a super chunky jacket during a heatwave but now that the weather is super chilly, I’m having the last laugh!

debbie-bliss-waterfall-jacket

The Waterfall Jacket by Debbie Bliss is knit in 5 separate pieces then seamed together. Dropped shoulders mean that the sleeves are straight, no faffing with decreases. The stitch pattern oozes texture and makes for a thick bouncy fabric.

debbie-bliss-waterfall-jacket-5

The pattern is designed to be knit with Debbie Bliss’ Roma but I’ve been exploring British yarns this year so I took some time exploring other super chunky wools. There aren’t many British wool yarns in super chunky weight. I made a little planning table to help me pick.

Name Stitch Gauge Ball Length (m) No. Required Cost per ball Total cost Colourways
Roma 9 and 10 80 10 6.74 67.4
Laxtons Super Chunky BFL unknown unknown 100g 2×5 £32.90 for 5 65.8 Undyed
Big Brit 9 and 12 67 12 5.95 71.4 Natural Grey
Erica Knight Maxi Wool 8 and 12 80 10 6.71 67.1 Storm or milk chocolate

I opted for Maxi Wool but would happily knit with the others for future projects.

debbie-bliss-waterfall-jacket-3

The end result is extremely warm, cosy and goes with everything. It’s a great alternative to a coat on dry but freezing cold days. I’m pleased with how it turned out.

  • debbie-bliss-waterfall-jacket-4

8 responses to “Storm Waterfall

  1. The texture is beautiful – I would love to see a close-up shot of the jacket as it looks gorgeous!

  2. This looks so warm and cozy! I may have to add it to my knitting queue 🙂 Was it a fairly fast knit?

  3. love that texture. I have been knitting a charcoal grey cardi with the same shape and it has been taking me forever (the fronts are all diagonal cables, groan).

  4. Ooo, it’s gorgeous! Love the texture to the pattern.

  5. Looking at this I think you could have made me the cardinal I got for Christmas. Looks so cosy xxx

  6. Love this jacket/sweater. Looks so cozy!

Comments, tips and suggestions?

