Kylie

It’s tempting to use some Kylie song lyrics in this blog post about Style Arc’s Kylie knit top pattern but I’ll refrain. Kylie is a basic long or short sleeve t-shirt pattern with a wing-like overlay. I envisioned a pile of different versions, mostly stripey. I love sewing and wearing stripes!

kylie-green-5

First up was a long sleeved version in a green stripe viscose jersey from ebay. I ordered a size 6 pattern based on bust measurement and adjusted the pattern (grading up at the hips and down at the waist) before cutting out. I don’t mind so much for this simple seamed project but I’d find it difficult grading a complicated pattern without the other sizes as a guide. Something to consider when thinking about/buying Style Arc patterns.

kylie-green-6

I was thoroughly confused about the construction of the overlay. The pattern instructions are a little brief and oddly phrased. By the time I’d worked it out, I’d chomped the seam allowance off with my overlocker. The neckline is wider on this version than it should be, unpicking was stretching the jersey so I cut away the overlocking and started again. To fix the slightly saggy neckline, I threaded some elastic thread through the correct overlocked seam and drew it up slightly. My fudge worked out but I’m not proud of it.

kylie-nautical-2

My second version of Kylie was a pattern hack in a nautical jersey (a two times remnant; from  pneuma and before that maxi skirt). I amended the armholes and shoulders of the overlay to turn it into a sleeveless vest and bound the neckline and armholes with perpendicular stripes.

kylie-nautical-6

Out of the two, this one is my favourite but I’m keen to make it again so watch this space.

kylie-nautical-4

2 responses to “Kylie

  1. PsychicKathleen

    I fell so instantly in love with your blue striped version that I promptly jogged over to StyleArc and ordered the pattern 🙂 It’s beautiful!! I know what you mean about their instructions however – I’m braced and feeling a little more prepared to take that deep breath after reading your post 🙂 I love their styling though so it’s often worth the challenge of figuring it out to make them 🙂 So many of my favourite things have been made with their patterns – what’s a girl to do?!

Comments, tips and suggestions?