Berry Sorbetto

Berry and Leaf on Navy

When I found this fabric amongst my acquired stash, I thought it might be a Liberty of London print. A quick search of the internet revealed that the print I recognised is called Wiltshire from the Liberty Art Fabrics Collection. I enjoyed reading about the history of Liberty fabrics and learnt that the berry and leaf print was first designed in 1933 and redesigned by Tana in 1968. However, I can’t find this particular colourway anywhere (navy background, reddish-pink berries and blue-lilac leaves)… it’s somewhat of a mystery. I have two theories: rare or a copy.

Berry Sorbetto2

Regardless, I was excited to have it available for my use and thought it’d make a beautiful Sorbetto blouse, a free pattern available from the Coletterie. Using my amended pattern pieces, I carefully cut out the mysterious leaf and berries fabric.

Berry Sorbetto

Following on with the lemon Sorbetto toile, I rehearsed bias binding attachment using the facing method described in a Coletterie Tutorial. It worked a treat and my stitching came out really neatly (just seen in the below image).

Berry Sorbetto1

I’m really proud of the finished blouse. I took my time with cutting, sewing and pressing which paid off. As you can see, I’ve already started accessorising which means it’ll be quickly integrated into my wardrobe.

8 responses to “Berry Sorbetto

  1. I LOVE this fabric! It really does look like a Liberty print, and even though it’s not, you can always pretend 🙂

  2. This looks great. Love the necklace with it. I haven’t made a Sorbetto yet. I think it may be time…

  3. what gorgeous fabric – and necklace! I have just downloaded the sorbetto too!! happy sewing

  4. Nice- definitely going to give that one a go- thanks for alerting me to it.

  5. Beautiful Sorbetto! Absolutely love the fabric, AND the necklace. Nice accessorizing. Great work. Your stitches are so neat. My first Sorbetto was a mess! 🙂
    Shelley

  6. Thank you for all your lovely comments. I wore it this week and I received a couple of compliments.

  7. I love the fabric and the finish looks really good. I hope you get lots of use from it.

    I have the same necklace and get loads of compliments when I wear it. Must dig it out and wear again soon.

  8. Hi. It looks like a copy. It’s not quite the same design as Liberty’s Wiltshire Berry (for example, the berry ends are just dots on the WB pattern, not stars) but you can certainly see the influence.

Comments, tips and suggestions?