Ella Again

It’s been a while since I last blogged but I wanted to share a second version of the Ella Top by Liola Patterns.

IMG_1999 (513x640)

The fabric was purchased from Elliot Berman Textiles in the New York Garment District – I wouldn’t have found it if it wasn’t for Sonja. While in New York I was keen to stock up on stretchy fabrics so this was the only woven I bought. I was overwhelmed by the wide array of fabrics – this happens a lot to me.

IMG_2017 (512x640)

It washed and sewed up beautifully. The neckline doesn’t sit quite right but this is entirely due to me using bias binding that is too wide (narrower is easier around such a tight curve). I was wooed by the dots so I have only myself to blame.

IMG_2015 (511x640)

Piping was fun to work with, it’s my first time but I found it easy to get to grips with and like how it highlights the back yoke. Even more so since I played with the width of the pleat to get the pattern repeat to match up impeccably.

4 responses to “Ella Again

  1. The piping is a such a pretty addition to this top. As is your dog!

  2. Nice top! I like the piping. It always makes everything so posh!

  3. The detailing in the back is really lovely. A great idea!

  4. Pingback: Newale | Clipped Curves

Comments, tips and suggestions?