Stripe Renfrew

Stripe jersey and Sewaholic’s Renfrew pattern were meant to be together. Don’t believe me? See here, here, here, here and here. If you still don’t believe me… enter ‘stripe Renfrew’ into a search engine of your choice.

IMG_1813 (480x640)

Despite the hints of spring it’s still cold outside… I took a bit of persuading to remove my gloves, coat and scarf at the weekend to get these photographs.

IMG_1822 (427x640)

I made some more changes to the pattern pieces since my first Renfrew which was ok but had room for improvement. I have blended sizes between almost every pattern piece to create a custom fit and form fitting silhouette. My final pattern pieces are: bust 6, waist 4, hips 8, shoulders 6 and wrists 2. But…

IMG_1827 (427x640)

Unfortunately I’m still a sway back adjustment away from a perfect fit.

IMG_0346 (640x426)

The fabric? It’s a lovely, soft  t-shirt knit jersey from one of my favourite ebay fabric shops brunswickmill2013. I also snapped up the reverse navy and white stripe combo before both options went out of stock.

IMG_1818 (427x640)

Stripe matching. Would you be surprised if I said I find stripe matching fun and immensely satisfying? I just love all the pattern placement and pedantic pinning only to open the fabric and see continuous stripes right across the new seam. What’s your sewing pleasure of the moment?

12 responses to “Stripe Renfrew

  1. Top looks great. Well done with matching the stripes, I particularly like how you have managed to get the stripe in the neckband so even.

  2. I love stripes! Your top looks so good, and fits you perfectly.

  3. I am also planning a striped renfrew! I am frustrated as my machine is not playing ball on buttonholes. I had 2 jenna cardies planned and 2 shirt dresses. So I need to change plans until I can get it looked at.

  4. Hi there! Thank you so much for linking to my version of the striped Renfrew! I love the dark navy on yours and it looks like you did great on your stripe matching!

  5. Wow! So professional looking. Adding it to my list. So many things to sew….

  6. Pingback: Top 10 Tips for Sewing With Stripes | Clipped Curves

  7. Pingback: Monday Sunday Sew Love | Life by Ky

  8. Pingback: Second Stripe Renfrew | Clipped Curves

Comments, tips and suggestions?